What About Your Friends?

Here at Corner Politics I’ll be relinquishing the podium to other bloggers so they can their glow on – no Shonuff. Today’s post comes from Corner Politics commenter and newbie blogger Yonnie Williford. Yonnie is a recent graduate of the University of Houston, Social Work Graduate program and is currently putting the finishing touches on her new blog http://www.neosoulsistah3000.blogspot.com. Since this is her first time grabbing he mic here at CP let’s show her love, since it’s the Brooklyn way and give her a soul clap.

I don’t normally do this but I thought I would talk about health today and how friendships can have a direct impact on your health. I know as adults it can be incredibly difficult to foster the kind of relationships you once had say in your teens or twenties but if you can find the time and are fortunate enough good friends equal good health. “People with social support have fewer cardiovascular problems and immune problems, and lower levels of cortisol — a stress hormone,” says Tasha R. Howe, PhD, associate professor of psychology at Humboldt State University. “Why? The evolutionary argument maintains that humans are social animals, and we have evolved to be in groups. We have always needed others for our survival. It’s in our genes. Therefore, people with social connections feel more relaxed and at peace, which is related to better health.”

Where would I be without you??
Where would I be without you??

As someone who has lived in a plethora of cities across this country and even abroad I’ve had numerous friendships and met some really wonderful people. The moments in my life that I can recall that have been the best were mostly intensified because I had other people there to experience it with me. I would propose to those who haven’t told a friend how much they cherish and love them to do so, maybe even today.

YONNIE WILLIFORD you can contact her at http://www.facebook.com/Neosoulsistahs3000

Leave a Reply

