She’s With Somebody Else . . . . .

“Princeton! Did you hear what I said?  Are you still coming to the studio tonight?”

 

“I’m sorry Ant.  I’ve been a little distracted lately with the new job and all”

 

“Well get it together man!  The label wants to hear the new project next week.  Time to get focused. . .”

 

Ant was right.  I needed to focus but she was invading every part of my being.  Her lips were in my morning coffee.  Her scent was in my clothing.  Even her angelic voice was on my radio!  Normally, I can master my emotions and compose a great song.  But since that night, I haven’t been able to write anything of substance. Every lyric keeps coming out like an old Keith Sweat tune!  It’s been about three months since I asked Jade to choose love. It’s been twelve weeks since I opened my heart and confessed my earnest feelings.  And as I sit, she’s still living her life with him . . . . . . . . .

 

I know what you’re saying: This man is too old to be feeling this way right?  He should just move on with his life right?  Well . . . . unfortunately, you can’t choose who you fall in love with.  Life is a little bit harder than those love stories on Lifetime.  I honestly believed that I could win Jade back.  When she called me that Saturday night after the funeral, I thought I had. My angel confessed to me that she was afraid to love.  She told me that she believed in us and that she couldn’t wait on tomorrow.  We had already waited too long. We had made too many excuses not to be living our lives as they were truly intended; together.  

 

Literally moments after the call, Jade was at my front door.  When I tell you it was like heaven when she walked in . . . . . . . maaaaaaaaaan!  Her white sundress told the truth her earlier attire tried to hide.  As she sashayed back into my world, my heart was in full sprint!  I stood there at the door, attempting to breathe as Jade made her way to her favorite sofa.  She grabbed the remote and made herself at home. . . . as if she never left.

 

As I made my way to the couch, I took a moment to admire her beauty.  I couldn’t believe that I was granted another opportunity to be in her presence.  She caught me staring at her and gave a wide smile.  She took my hand and led me to the seat beside her.  I was honored to have her back in my life.  I wanted nothing more than to spend the rest of my days showing her that she made the right choice.  As I turned off my phone, she told me that she just wanted to be held.  Her eyes indicated that it had been a long time since she felt secure.  We assumed the position and she allowed herself to soak into my chest.  While her perfume and curvy frame ignited my soul, I allowed myself to get lost in fantasy.  I finally had the woman I waited my entire life for.  There was no reason to rush the night.  We had forever. . . or so I believed.

 

The Law & Order marathon gave way to the Food Network.  As I began to imagine what I could make out of the mystery baskets, Jade began to reveal secrets of her own.  She had adjusted herself so that her legs were open.  She took my hand and placed it on her thigh.  She stroked my hand, deeper with each stroke.  Taking the hint, I eased my way up her thigh.  As I made my way to the center, I could hear her anticipating my next move. Imagine my surprise when I found she had on no panties!  I caressed her gently until the wetness was pouring from her soul.

 

She turned to kiss me like she had never kissed me before.  The kisses before were soft, tender to the touch.  Now they were aggressive nibbles that quickly turned into intense biting.

 

“Baby . . . . . .baby slow down!  Why are you in such a rush?”

 

She looked at me as if she didn’t hear my petition and began to torture me with her tongue.  Jade had a way of making the strongest man weak by how she flipped her muscle.  The once poetic lover I knew had grown into this lustful savage that was having no mercy on my emotions!  She commanded my soul to give her what she wanted.  And for a man who normally doesn’t comply, I was completely submissive at this time.  I had no choice as she sunk her nails into my chest.  I couldn’t contain myself any longer.  She took me to a place I had never been before.  And while I was happy for the arrival, I wanted her to come along.  When I asked her to come to the bedroom, she declined my offer as she licked her lips and picked up her things.

 

“So that’s it?  You’re leaving now?”

 

“I just wanted to make you happy Princeton.  We’ll have more time together.  I have to get home and ready for service tomorrow”  

 

She gathered her things and walked out of the door.  She didn’t even wait for me to pull up my pants!  By the time I made it to the doorway, she was already in her car driving away.  What in the entire hell was going on?  I turned around and wiped the sweat from my face trying to make sense of it all.  As I regained consciousness, I went online to see what had really been going on in Jade’s world.  Like most of my former acquaintances, I opted to stop following her page, but remained a friend.  I didn’t want to see her life on my timeline, haunting me.  And then . . . . . . . . .  I saw why she had to leave.

 

Engaged????!!! I rubbed my eyes to make sure I wasn’t seeing things.  But there it was, a gazillion pictures of her with some big time minister from Atlanta!  Eating at the Cheesecake Factory.  Enjoying the coffee in Helen, Georgia.  Posing with their friends at church!  I was beyond hot!  Why would she just use me like that?  Didn’t I mean more to her than that?  As I sat in my anger, my fingers sent her an instant message:

 

“Why did you play with me when you belonged to someone else?”

 

No response.  Then after two hours, my phone rang.

 

“Princeton, don’t be mad”

 

“If you are engaged, why did you let me believe that we could be together again?  You didn’t have to call me!  You didn’t have to come over!  But you did! And you didn’t even wear your engagement ring that’s in all these pictures!”

 

“It’s complicated Princeton.  I want to be with you but I can’t right now”

 

“Why not Jade?  Don’t you know I love you?”

 

“I love you too Princeton, but I just can’t be with you right now.  I’m engaged.  I thought you knew that?  I thought that . . . . . .”

 

“You thought I could what?  Be the dude on the side?”

 

“Princeton, I want to be with you.  I didn’t know how much until the funeral today.  When you sang, it made me realize that I never stopped loving you.  When you reached out to talk to me all those times and I gave you those short, cold answers, I was trying to forget you.  So yes, I got engaged to get over you”

 

I paused.  I didn’t want Jade to make sense because I was angry.  Hell, she was living with another man!  A preacher at that!  This cat was getting all the loving I deserved! But it was my fault that we were in this situation.  

 

“So what now Jade?  I love you.  You love me.  Why can’t we be together?  Sounds simple enough to me”

 

“But it’s not Princeton.  Trust, I will figure a way out of this but for the meanwhile, can you wait for me?”

Question: Could you wait on someone you consider to be your soulmate?  If you were Princeton, would you wait?

Written by Michael Dock, Founder of The Wednesday Gentleman and Author of the Forthcoming Novel “Addicted to Chaos”

4 thoughts on “She’s With Somebody Else . . . . .

  1. Hmmmmm….I don’t know about that! She can’t be making dude wait. Why is she with someone she doesn’t want to be with? How long is Princeton supposed to wait? If I were him, I would let her know that I’m not putting my life on hold; while she figures out her mess. What if she never finds a way out of that engagement/relationship? What is Princeton going to do, then? Why get engaged to someone when you aren’t sure about being with them, forever? If I were Princeton, I would tell her to do what she needs to do, but, don’t expect me to wait. It’s not fair to him. Yes, they may be in love; but, she needs to be more upfront with the preacher. Princeton may end up getting hurt and having to deal with a lot of issues, if he waits and then ends up not getting what he wants.
    I wouldn’t wait on a soulmate, who is indecisive and caught up in a mess…like this. I would expect them to make some quick decisions, or I would make myself UNAVAILABLE! You can’t give people all of the control over you! There may, possibly, be another soulmate for me and I would just take my chances!

  2. Nice story!
    It would depend….more than likely not. I feel when you meet your soulmate it shouldn’t be that hard. Things should flow naturally, this is the person you connect with on all levels. Maybe it’s not the time and you two will meet up later in life, if that is truly “your soulmate”. I do believe a person only has one soulmate in a lifetime.

    1. Thank you for reading Toni. I honestly believe that love shouldn’t be this hard either. People believe that it is better to play mind games instead of being true themselves and each other. Next week should be interesting. . . . .

Leave a Reply

