Gucci Mane, Old School???

Here’s a scary thought, in a couple of years this generation’s idea of old school Hip Hop is going to be artists like Gucci Mane and Waka Flocka, I shudder at the thought.

What will you when Young Thug's music will be considered old school?
What will you do when Young Thug’s music will be considered old school?

As I sat typing that first line I thought how screwed this generation really is, music wise that is. I mean think about it, do you remember when you were going to the clubs and the DJ would play the 25 and older set? Well in a few years that’s going to be songs like “No Flex Zone“, “Trap Queen” or insert any Migos song. So like I said: screwed.

Long gone are the days when people felt something from Hip Hop and when I mean felt something, I mean: black pride, sadness or introspective. Hell, “Mind Playing Tricks on Me” made you feel like you were losing it – but at least you felt something. Nowadays I’m not sure what this younger generation feels, is turn up even a feeling? Me no know. But the point is another 4 to 5 years “Flicka Da Wrist” and “Throw Some Mo” will be considered old school classics and while that makes me want to want to kick Drake in the chest, just to see if the bruise turns red or violet, come on you know Drake’s blushes are probably fuchsia.

Look, I’ve come to grips that just like Jerome from Martin was stuck in the 70’s, I can proudly say that I am stuck in the 90’s, so much in fact, I keep “I aint the One“, “Mic Checka“, and “Mr. Scarface” in my rotation like Rihanna at a YMCMB/Drake after party. Not to mention when Straight Outta Compton comes out, I’ll be that nigga all decked out in starched, creased dickies, and a 4x t-shirt with a pair of Chuck Taylor’s on.

So while the generation has OG Maco, Rich Homie Quan, and Rae Sremmurd, I’m cool with bumping “Only Built for Cuban Linx”, “Death Certificate”, and “The Diary” just like they came out yesterday.

So if you’re like, what songs make you shudder at the thought of being classified as old school, in a couple of years? And if you are like me, stuck in the 90’s, what are some of your favorite songs?

Talk to me, I’ll talk back.

Breazy Bambaataa

Leave a Reply

