We Don’t Wear Red Skirts for Ourselves

redskirt

I have this red skirt i bought last year to wear on Valentine’s Day. I did not have a Valentine, but I knew I looked good in it.

Now here’s the thing: I liked the way the The Res Skirt made me feel, and I did have a positive vibe going on when I wore it. But everyone can relate to this: you are looking good, but no one’s around. When you are feeling yourself this much, do you stop and think, ” Man, I look great in this skirt! I feel so good, I’m going to go home alone, drink some wine, and prance around the house glancing at myself in the mirror!”. Of course not. What do you do? YOU GO OUT SO PEOPLE CAN SEE YOU. How many of you have uttered the phrase “ I look too good right now to be in the house”?

Ladies, let’s stop lying to ourselves right now. While it may sound good in theory to say ” I wear skin-tight jeans for myself- I AM WOMAN HEAR ME ROAR”, it’s not. No one wears infection-inducing pants for themselves- they are worn because other humans ( and a few dogs) think you look hot in them. We wear what we think will attract others. It’s in our nature.

If we truly wore what made us comfortable all the time, we’d wear sweatpants. All day. Errday. Don’t believe me? Think about it: when you come home from work, what’s the first thing you want to do? Correct- you want to take off your pants ( this is a proven fact because it’s documented in a hilarious book written by Tina Fey entitled “Bossypants”- read it). And since most of us live with other people or at least a weird cat, you skip being pantsless and throw on some sweats. If I told you right now that sweatpants were the hottest wardrobe item that made everyone’s mouth water, Wal-Mart, Kmart, and all the other Marts would go out of business.

Before anyone jumps on me, screaming that I don’t know what I’m talking about, just think about a few things here: why do we wear make-up? Stilettos? Push-up bras with wires? Because they are empowering. comfortable, and embody GIRL POWER? I don’t think so. It’s because we want Justin from accounting to notice us in the break room. It’s because we want to walk by a group of hot guys in The Red Skirt that hugs our non existent hips, which is more enticing than sauntering up to said group in your freshman orientation shirt that you refused to get rid of. AND THAT’S OK.

So I will be the first to admit that I dress up for other people to see me. So what. Who cares. This doesn’t mean that I need other’s validation to define me, or even prove that I actually look good. But if wearing The Red Skirt lands me Mark Wahlberg’s dopple-danger, then my mission is accomplished. Actually, it doesn’t even have to be a Marky Mark look-a-like. It could be his brother Donnie’s twin, who was my favorite New Kid on the Block. Or anyone closely resembling Idris Elba, The Rock, Robin Thicke, Columbus Short, or my hot neighbor who stares at me in the hall will do just fine ( but I like it).

-KEEP IT A HOT MESS

*Photograph courtesy of Laura Byrnes Photography

Leave a Reply

