I’ve Seen The Light, Scandal Is for Real.

For those of you that know me personally, you know my feelings about Scandal. I use to be one of those that thought Scandal was all about Olivia Pope being the President’s jump off. I would argue til the cows came home, about how the only roles that African American actress can get in Hollywood is being someone’s “mammy” or jumpMV5BMTUwMTQyMTIwMV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNjI1MzU2Nw@@._V1_SY317_CR12,0,214,317_AL_ off.

Oh, I used to get on my high horse and proclaim how shows like Scandal and Being Mary Jane were of the devil, and how those that watched it faithfully were championing home wreckers. Oh yes, I was one of those dudes that hated on a show that I thought was geared towards women only, and would turn my nose up at the dudes that actually liked this shit.

But lo and behold it actually turned out that I was just a misguided individual. Even though it took a while for me to get over my stubbornness, I recently decided to have a “Scandal” marathon. And I can say that I was thoroughly surprised by all the plot twists, cliff hangers and the fact that it’s not just a “chick” show.

While I am not a gladiator, I can say that the show is very entertaining, which I know is know is no surprise to those that followed the show from the beginning. But you see for those (particularly men) like me, that are late to the party, Scandal at first glance represents the status quo, where the only way an African American actress can get work in Hollyweird is being someone’s side piece.

But again I was wrong, while the show does showcase Olivia’s and Fitz’s complex relationship, it does show the ins and outs of DC politics, along with the inner workings on how things really get done, in a town where everybody says a whole lot of nothing in hopes of getting over.

Again I am not a gladiator in a suit, but I can say that I have seen the light, and while I may or may not watch Scandal faithfully going forward, I will be sure to give it the respect that it is due, as a damn good show, not unlike The Bridge’s or Covert Affairs’ of the world.

So that’s it, Breazy has seen the light. Are there any hold over’s left? And I so, what is your apprehension about Scandal?

Talk to me, I’ll talk back.

Breazy Wonder.

Leave a Reply

