Haterade

 

(Big Up, To All My Haters!)

 

There are a few things that annoy me in today’s society of self-centeredness (that’s clearly not a word, but it’s fine just this one time).  One of them is the subject of “haters”. First of all, it’s not even a real word, no matter how many times you click on it in via the dictionary.com website. And you surely won’t find it in a good ‘ol paperback edition. If you really want to know what a “hater” is, I suppose you could mosey on over to urbandictionary.com and find the following definition:

HATER: A person that simply cannot be happy for another person’s success. So rather than be happy they make a point of exposing a flaw in that person. 

Hating, the result of being a hater, is not exactly jealousy. The hater doesn’t really want to be the person he or she hates, rather the hater wants to knock someone down a notch.
Susan: You know, Kevin from accounting is doing very well. He just bought a house in a very nice part of town.
Jane (hater): If he is doing so well why does he drive that ’89 Taurus?

Despite the fact that it’s a made up word, I understand the concept of a hater. If someone is jealous of another individual for no apparent reason, I am okay with them being labeled an owner of the “hate” gene. If you are  a person who drips of jealousy and  cannot stand to see someone else being awesome at life because your own life is crap, you too deserve to be called a hater. That all makes sense. But I feel that the made up term is thrown out a bit too loosely. What ticks me off is when it is used when one expresses their genuine dislike for something or someone for the simple fact that THEY JUST DON’T LIKE IT.

For example, if I don’t kneel to throne that is Beyonce’, why do I have to be a hater? I have a friend who calls me a hater every time I say something regarding my dislike for all things Mrs. Carter. Don’t get me wrong, I like quite a bit of Beyonce’s music- there are songs of hers that I belt out in my shower that only cats can hear. I just don’t think everything she does is full of rainbows and glitter. And that’s okay. But if I say that one of Bey’s new singles is just “ok” or I don’t really care for it, I get called a hater. Why? Just because I don’t like something, I have to be a jealous hater? My dislike for the song “If I Were a Boy” doesn’t mean I wish Beyonce a bad life full of  terrible karma, or that I am upset that she’s successful. I just think it’s a crappy song that doesn’t make sense to me. I’m not looking to knock her down a few pegs, I just don’t like it. And guess what? I don’t have to.

It’s the same concept with people who think they have “haters” and actually relish in the fact that they think people are drinking gallons of Haterade in their honor. There are people out there who think that the world is out to get them, hate the fact that they are “shining” ( whatever that means), and are jealous that all their #nofilter selfies look extra fabulous. Many of these people are also blind to the fact they are just not good people, and are actually jerks. Granted, these people may have a few people who actually look at them in envy, and do not wish them well in any capacity. But if you’re a person that is a legitimate idiot, you don’t have haters dear, people just don’t like you.

What say you, my good people? Do you have haters? Are you a hater yourself? Or can we agree that there are people out there who simply cannot be liked?

 

See more of my awesome life, check me out at Hot Mess Life.

 

Leave a Reply

