Who’s The Real Coward?

A lot has been said about how the Los Angeles Clippers, its players handled the recent controversy surrounding their owner Donald Sterling. Chris Paul, Blake Griffith and company have been called everything from cowards, to slaves, to coons, for not boycotting the game that was scheduled after the release of audio, where Sterling can be heard making disparaging remarks in regards to African Americans. Even though I don’t agree with them being cowards, slaves, nor coons, I did mention that I thought it would be dope if the team forfeited the rest of the playoffs in a show of solidarity against their owner.no cowards

But after checking myself before I wrecked myself, I realized that even though I may have an opinion on how the players should have handled things. How can I call upon someone else to be a reluctant activist? When I, myself have the ability to do so? How can I ask someone to take a stand on an issue that has more of an impact on them, than it does me? Basically, why hide behind someone else that has a lot more to lose than I do? You see it’s easy for arm chair quarterbacks and bloggers alike to point fingers and call others names, while feeling self-righteous from the comfort of our living rooms and computers, because we feel like we are holding others accountable.

Truth be told, if you ask me, those calling the Clipper’s cowards for not boycotting are the real cowards. Calling the Clipper’s names because you disagree with how they are handling a sticky situation, that affects them more than it does you, is a case of the pot calling the kettle black. It’s not being proactive or progressive and it akin to being a bully that puts others down so that they can feel better about themselves, because they “took a stand”

In my opinion everybody that’s on the sidelines talking down on the Clippers organization are the real cowards.

What do you think? Do you think it was right to call the Clippers, cowards or sellouts?

Talk to me, I’ll talk back.

Breazy

Leave a Reply

