#TEAMTHICK

I remember the first time some guy called me thick. I remember because I wasn’t happy about it. For one thing, when I think of thick, I think of a steak. So for me, the thought of being compared to a desired cut of meat was well, less than desirable. I also felt that it was a personal trigger for me to let me know I needed to put the bacon down and get back in the gym. I knew that the guy was trying to give me a compliment, but he might as well have called me T-Bone ( now I’m hungry).

But we should all be used to it by now.  Thick. Thickums. Thicka than a Snicka. It’s thrown out to women as a compliment, and we have definitely embraced it. In the modern-day world where social media reigns supreme, I have seen the hashtag #teamthick more times than I can count. Now there’s nothing wrong with having some curves ( my girls are never going to go away and my thighs will be with me forever), but what about the breed of woman who is embracing the term “thick” a bit too much? In a world where being overweight and obesity kills at a more rapid rate than ever ( especially within the Black community), are we making it okay to be on #teamthick?

We all know that not every overweight person is unhealthy, just like not every skinny person is necessarily healthy. I’m no doctor, but I’m pretty sure that every five foot five woman who weighs a good 250 is not getting a clean bill of health at their annual checkup. But don’t tell Thickums that. She’s taking her selfie in her too tight, see-through leggings and her House of Dereon tank top stretched out, with the iron-on lettering fighting for their lives. And there’s probably a plate of cheese fries in the background. Homegirl don’t care what you think because she is on #teamthick, #teambarbie, #biggirlsrock, #bbw, and apparently #teamfrenchfries as well. And her other thick friends are egging her on ( or should I say fried-shrimping’ her on, although that doesn’t make much sense, but whatever). Is it really all good in the ‘hood, or are we celebrating being unhealthy without even realizing it?

I am certainly not bashing anyone who is thick, and in no way is this fat shaming. I am just keeping it real. Coming from real experience, I have a body who many will say falls into this THICK category. I also know that my general practitioner has told me for years that I need to stop eating so much cheese ( who in the world wants to do that?!?!) and lose a good 20 pounds.

What we have above is the good ‘ol Height/Weight chart that doctors have been using since the beginning of time to determine a healthy weight for your body ( also dependent your gender). According to this fun graph, I should be dead. Now, Lord knows we are not all “built” the same way, but the scale definitely still has some merit. Even if I were to take away my creamy thighs ( my Prince reference for the day!) and Thelma and Louise, this chart still lets me know that I could still stand to lose some weight.  It’s funny when I tell people that I want like to lose a good thirty pounds, I get the “FROM WHERE?!” response all the time. I always have described my body type as a gymnast who hit puberty head on. But it got stuck, sort of-with the help of my terrible eating habits and penchant for fried, cheesy things.

But it’s for health reasons. I have a few medical conditions that would pretty much be eliminated with the help of some pounds being shed of my little tiny frame ( I’m five-foot-one, but I pack a punch!). Again, not every #teamthick member is afflicted with the same health issues, but I’m sure a lot are and don’t even know it, because they’re so busy letting you know that “BIG GIRLS DO IT BETTER” on their Instagram and Twitter pages. So even if you’re built like the thick brickhouse you call yourself, you may want to take a few bricks off the foundation and get in shape. Stop embracing #teamthick and try getting on #teamhealthy.

4 thoughts on “#TEAMTHICK

  1. Men and women BOTH need to realize these points. Men don’t have to justify themselves with #Teamthick and all that, but they still find ways to rationalize their way of life, a way of life blinded by fast food and processed food advertisements. Being thick is all good (like you said) if you’re also bout that healthy life. But people ain’t even trying to hear about that.

    1. I think some people embrace being “thick” as a means to justify their laziness. It’s easy to just settle with what you have, if you aren’t willing to put in the time or make the sacrifice’s needed to do better.

  2. I can’t eem front…I love me a woman with an “extra helping of sides” as it were. That being said, the older I’ve gotten, I’ve also learned that the extra isn’t always healthy, which speaks to the point of the writer. Finding the right balance of generally ideal weight, and not losing the curvaceously voluptuousness seems to be what *most* women over a certain size have a never ending battle with, at least the ones I know.

Leave a Reply

