If I don’t like it, I don’t like it, it doesn’t make me a hater.

You know? There are some people you just can’t disagree with, let alone like something different from what they like. Either they will try to argue you down with reasons and facts so that you eventually “understand where they are coming” or they’ll label you a hater.Rottenecards_67995597_6sd8yf3wwh

You know the type, the people that think they are an authority on a particular subject that they are passionate about and will go to great lengths to make other people feel the same way. This is particularly prevalent in the African American community. You don’t like Beyonce? You are a hater that is going to feel the wrath of her Bey-hive (usually in 140 characters.) You don’t think Future’s emotional crying ass is the truth? You are hating because he makes more money than you. Or, if you are a hetero-sexual male that doesn’t like Scandal, you are hating on a powerful, independent black woman that’s running things (never mind Olivia Pope is a high powered jump off).

You see where I’m going? You can’t go against what someone finds popular without being labeled as a pariah. Whatever happened to agreeing to disagree? Or you being able to like whatever you want as long as it doesn’t conflict with others? Common (sense) said it best, “if I don’t like it, I don’t like it, it doesn’t make me a hater”

Within the last couple of weeks I’ve seen Beyonce’s mindless followers fans go off on tangents and attack TLC’s Chili (and her baby hair), and her son over what they thought was a diss. They also attacked Miley Cyrus for basically saying Beyonce’s time is almost up and that she’s got next. Whether or not the two of them were actually dissing Queen Bey, they were voicing their opinions, something they are allowed to do. But, clearly Queen Bey’s fans weren’t having it, proving you cannot not like Beyonce without some type of repercussion.

So how do you deal with people like this? They are on your job, at your church, in your family, at the strip club. They are impossible to get away from. Well one way is to keep doing you, this will piss them off even more than if you disagree with them. Another way is to ignore them, they’re probably miserable and just want someone to be miserable with, not to mention this is probably the only way they can exert their control.

What do you think? How do you deal with people that if you like something that’s different from them, they’ll go through great lengths to make you see things their way?

6 thoughts on “If I don’t like it, I don’t like it, it doesn’t make me a hater.

    1. Yeah, in a perfect world, this would be ideal, but we all know that wolves sometimes appear in sheep’s clothing, so it’s not always that easy to spot them right away.

      Sometimes in unavoidable, maybe their co-workers, boss or family members. If I can’t avoid them altogether, I’ll try to limit my interaction with them, as much as I can.

  1. I very much like this article. Many people need to read and contemplate the ideas and questions offered in this piece.

    I think the answer for each person on how to deal with these types of people lies in how much time he or she wants to devote to them. My time is already limited, so when I discover that I am dealing with a person or persons who demonstrate a lack of willingness to be reasonable, I simply don’t give them any of my time.

    If I spend considerable time arguing with unreasonable people, it’s really not just them who are fools; I also would be a fool.

    1. Yeah, that old saying,” never argue from a fool, because from a distance you can’t tell who’s who” does come to mind when dealing with people like this.

      I agree, you have to assess yourself and just how much you are willing to invest in someone like this. But I also think you have to be honest in your assessment, are you dealing with them because you want to be a good friend, or are you just tolerating them out of pity?

      But I guess the best way is to be upfront with them about it.

      1. Yes, what’s key is to deal candidly with them. As a general rule, I only tolerate those who I really have no choice but to tolerate. When we are good to our friends, we might have to tolerate some things about them that we don’t like, including the subject of your piece.

  2. Dude…I HATE scandal. What’s so powerful about a woman ruining another persons marriage? Garbage.
    As for your subject. I just tell the person hey, we have different ideas about whatever it is that we’re disagreeing about, so let’s not make a big deal out of it. The world would be a boring place if everyone thought the same way.

Leave a Reply

