One Of My loves.

I want to talk about one of the few things that I hold dear. No it’s not Amerie, Lola Monroe, Bria Myles, egg nog, nor my beloved Denver Broncos. No the love I’m speaking of is something different entirely, something that most people would probably laugh at, if I shared my affinity for it. The love that I speak of is the Sing Off, that’s right the acapella singing competition. I love this show. I am glad that NBC came to their senses and decided to bring the Sing off back this year. Last year they chose to ride with the Voice rather than the Sing off, but all that is water under the bridge now.

The best show ever.
The best show ever.

Seriously I can’t get enough of it, watching each episode makes me want to start my own acapella group, doo wop band or a barbershop quartet. Just watching each group performs every episode no matter the genre of music inspires me and dare I say completes me.

One of the reasons why I like it so much is that it’s singing in its purest form, at least it is to me. There is no hiding behind pre-recorded tracks or looks. And to me that’s what separates the sing off from the other singing competitions, the vocals are the main draw or hindrance. If you can’t sing acapella it’ll show but if you can sing acapella then you are a real singer.

Another reason is the diverseness of each group. You may have a group consisting of fraternity brothers from an ivy league school, a group of backup singers to a group of grandfather aged men that want to re-live their doo wop ambitions.

Because of the focus on the singing abilities, of the participating groups, (without all the politics of say American Idol) I get so involved. Rooting for each group whether I like their choice of songs or not. Because when it’s all said and done, each group, even the ones that are eliminated are real singers and can singer better than 98% of what’s on the radio.

As I said before I get so involved that my heart breaks a little whenever someone is eliminated. Even though I haven’t found a clear cut favorite to latch onto this season like seasons past, I like all remaining 8 groups. If I had to put my money on any one group this season, it would probably be the group named Ten out of Dallas.

What do you think? Are you a fan of the Sing off? Or are you tired of singing competitions?

Talk to me, I’ll talk back.

Breazy Clark

3 thoughts on “One Of My loves.

Leave a Reply

