Super-fit Mothers, Being Shamed.

So apparently Berg Eriksen, a first time mother, who posted to her 245,000 Instagram followers a flat-stomach, bra-and-panties selfie just four days after giving birth ruffled some feathers.  The Norwegian soccer wife and fitness blogger captioned the picture with, “I feel so empty…4 days after birth,” which ignited an online backlash. Having being labeled a “shameless exhibitionist,” Eriksen’s self picture was likened to an act of war by critics who view super-fit women right after birth as intimidating, while this is unfair to all women.3dd7dbdc582211e3b94612f7d16abad8_8

Now, let me be upfront about my opinion on all of this. I do not have a dog in this fight, but I do find the critics a little hypocritical. They slam the super-fit mothers for what they feel is unhelpful and intimidating of those who aren’t, while they “themselves” are in fact trying to intimidate those who are. If you think someone is trying to shame or intimidate you, then that does not give you the right to do the same.

Obviously, women’s bodies and how they are portrayed are hot button topics. Either you are force fed the mainstream’s standard of beauty and body shape, or you have to contend with one other; this could be in the form of video vixens and major publications, and now you can add super-fit mothers to that list. Granted with all the pressures women have to “maintain” themselves, I doubt they need even more pressure to come from one of their own.

Being a man, I’m all for a woman who is in shape; but I also will admit, I don’t know the pressure(s) someone faces whose partner may be overweight. The biggest I’ve ever been was 200 lbs and that’s on a 6’2 frame, which still isn’t big. It amazes me about why some women feel as if they are being attacked or ridiculed by another who flaunts their slim and fit post-baby body. If the assumption made is that the person doing the flaunting isn’t saying “get like me,” then what’s the beef?

I’m all for loving your body, whether you are slim/slender, athletic, thick or full figured. You should be happy and accept your body as you choose. Now, if you feel you some kind of way, because someone is able to bounce back from having a baby faster than you (assuming you are trying to lose weight); or if someone who is a different size shows off, then that sounds more like a personal problem.

Whether or not you are comfortable with your body, why should you be concerned with what the next person is doing? Or, let alone, feel ashamed or intimidated? You don’t know that person’s struggle anymore than they know yours. Unless the person is purposelessly rubbing their fit body in your face, then why add any unnecessary stress by competing with that person?

What do you think? Do you think it’s fair for mothers who are able to bounce back to be picked on? Or do you think those that show off their slim post-baby bodies are trying to shame other women that can’t bounce back as quick?

Talk to me, I’ll talk back.

Breazy.

6 thoughts on “Super-fit Mothers, Being Shamed.

  1. I think it’s a humblebrag 🙂 And those who take exception to it are focusing on the ‘brag’ part. Sometimes thin photos can be inspiration, and other times, it’s a slap in the face of “you fat bishes.”

    No one wins in the body image wars, really. Either you are too skinny/small to be “Real” or you’re too big to be “Healthy” and both parties feel like they are being shamed and made invisible.

    Me, I’m just my size. I deal with it.

    1. I get what you are saying, about how it could be perceived as a “humble brag”. honestly I think all selfie’s are a form of bragging. But at the same time people have to realize that she is a fitness fanatic and blogger, so her posting the picture is really no different than a blogger posting a post. Fitness is her thing, her niche, why are some surprised about her posting a picture of her fit body?

      Like you said there no winners (except for cosmetic companies), but only losers in the body image wars.

  2. I don’t think it’s a slap in the face at all. If you are confident and content in how you look–thin, big, curvy, athletic, etc.- then what does it matter if another person chooses to show off their physique? If you don’t like it, don’t look at it. Don’t follow that person. Don’t feed into it. If you find that you feel offended or insulted, then maybe there is some other internal issue that you need to work on so that something as small as a person’s selfie doesn’t affect you so heavily.

    Although I have never given birth, I do know that it takes a lot of work during the pregnancy to ensure that not too much weight is gained so that the mother can return to her original size. In my eyes, that would be a form of inspiration because even though she is a fitness fanatic, it all came down to her choices. She could chosen to let pregnancy be her excuse to not eat healthy or exercise, but instead she chose otherwise and that should motivate those who are struggling in similar areas.

    1. Of all the things to be worried about, I don’t see why another woman’s body is one of them. Maybe it’s because I’m a man or because I’m slim myslef (I weigh 172). But I’m not going to try to shame nor call someone names just because my body isn’t like theirs.

      I do agree that some women use pregnancy as an excuse to let them self go, that’s why you see women 11 years after having a child, still trying to lose the weight. Again me being a man, I think that’s lazy. if you haven’t lost the weight in 11 years, then you probably don’t really want to. I believe if you really wanted to do something, you’d do it and there isn’t anything that would stop you.

  3. The real problem with these postings is not that they exist, but rather the amount of attention they receive. It seems as though each time one of these women posts a “Selfie” like this it goes viral.

    Although I am not a + size person myself, these picture do concern me. This particular woman is extremely thin,which of course is her perogative. But I think the concern here is will this become an expectation for all women.Giving birth to children is a traumatic event for a women’s body to go through and not everyone is able to get up the next day in a bikini. Most women are still really tired several days to several weeks after they have had their baby.

    1. I believed she did all that she could to keep from gaining more weight than she did during her pregnancy. But I chalk that up to the kind of person she is and what she views is important. I am not saying she was/is right or wrong but is obvious that having a fit pregnancy was important to her. I think as long as women have a realistic exception about pregnancy this should be a problem.

Leave a Reply

