Choose Your Weapon…..

RIFLE PRAYER

This is my rifle.
There are many like it, but this one is mine.
My rifle is my best friend.
It is my life. I must master it, as I must master my life.

Without me my rifle is useless.
Without my rifle, I am useless.
I must fire my rifle true.
I must shoot straighter than my enemy who is trying to kill me.
I must shoot him before he shoots me.
I will.

Before God I swear this creed.
My rifle and myself are defenders of my country.
We are the masters of our enemy.
We are the saviours of my life.
So be it … until there is no enemy


but peace. Amen.

-Full Metal Jacket

What weapon do you choose? Parable with perspective.

My rifle on some days is my tongue on other days its my mind. The latter controls the other. Silencer applied to this rifle.

Sniper Status.

I look around at my generation and their parenting skills, life skills, coping skills and I shake my head.

A false sense of arrival has caused us to disarm,

MLK was only 40 years ago, yet we act as if it was 400 years ago. A belief that there will always be a demographic box to check on an application. All the while not paying attention the grooming of our youth for servitude.

Rose colored glasses …..removed. Visine please..thank you

Focus

Jamie Johnson heir to the Johnson & Johnson fortune revealed that the country is run by the wealthy 1%, unseen american dream drivers.

Who’s care are we in?

I volunteered in my mother’s middle school one morning. It was right around the time Micheal Vick was going thru trial, I ended up asking one of the boys what he planned to do after high school, he said he planned to play football, this dude was small and he wasn’t even on the team at his middle school but hey I’m listening. Then this other little boy chimed in and said he wanted work for Water and Sewage.

Groomed mentally.

You have to feed a garden, plant the seeds you want to grow. Tupac, rose from concert. Afeni Shakur planted something in him. Pearls and Petals. Thorns from lessons learned in the streets.

What are we planting? Weeds and Wildflowers. I’m going to say this again, THEY ( the children)SEE EVERYTHING YOU DO! Your life experiences in detail.

One thought on “Choose Your Weapon…..

  1. Great post bruh! Completely agree. I got into a conversation about this recently. I think it’s interesting how we’re taught as African-Americans (brownies) to dream in a box.

    Like, You can only be an athlete, rap or sell drugs, that’s it. We end up with these kids that are totally ill-prepared for the real world. Like, what if you can’t rap? What if you aren’t athletic? What if your’re actually sympathetic toward your local neighborhood crackhead…? What’s wrong with aspiring to be a garbage man…ya know? Should that considered failure???

    I have no problem with dreaming, shiiiiiiiiit, most of that 1% were dreamers. we’re all dreamers, it’s just that wildflowers are taught and are willing to put in the work to turn into roses…while the weeds are expecting one day they’ll magically become wildflowers, ya know?

    We’ve got to do a better job of instilling that wildflower mentality. That boy’s parents know damn well he ain’t no football player…lol

Leave a Reply

