It’s My Anniversary.

Do you know what this week is? It’s my Anniversary! Sometimes I can’t believe that I am a blogger. I’m still amazed that there are people who are interested in what I have to say, and look forward to reading the next post. That’s not to say that I lack confidence, but it’s just that I know there are a million and one blogs out there, and I am humbled by those who support mine.  I know I ruffle feathers with some of my posts; some will say that I am a woman basher, a misogynist, a person who makes generalizations, or simply put, just not everyone’s cup of tea.  Really, I am pleasantly surprised that you keep coming back for more.

Can you believe Corner Politics is one year old?
Can you believe Corner Politics is one year old?

It is a feat within itself to be doing anything for a year, especially if you are trying to make a name for yourself in a crowded marketplace.  The reality is that I am just one of many blogs trying to compete with the big boys, as much as I like to think that I’m unique, and that my blog is unlike any other.

I don’t mind going up against the “Samsons’ ” of the blogosphere, because that’s just part of the grind. I live for finding new and creative ways to make bigger and more well known blogs take notice and remember my name. Besides, because of the grind, I was able to write a guest post for Very Smart Brothas and a few other blogs. So, me throwing stones at the throne is working.

Not to mention, the grind has afforded me several opportunities to branch out and do the unthinkable. I’ve been asked to participate and co-host a podcast because the host likes my blog. Currently, I’m working on different projects with other bloggers. One is a joint podcast,  and another is a joint Vlog where we have already started to record material. Please be on the lookout for these projects going live very soon.

It’s not all peaches ‘n cream though. To quote the real CeeLo Goodie (f*ck Greene), “I want to lie to you sometimes but I can’t, I want to tell you that it’s all good but it ain’t.” The grind has its fair share of valleys as well as peaks. Some days are slower than a celibate prostitute and on others, it seems  like I am only writing for myself. Some people may not comment for days at a time, especially those who say they like you and follow you, when actually they don’t.

Overall, my biggest challenge has been writer’s block, which is ironic since I can write about countless experiences based on my daily life or just life in general. Writer’s block is probably one of the biggest reasons why bloggers may doubt themselves and throw in the towel. Honestly, I’ve re-posted a couple posts due to writers block.

I know also because of writer’s block, several bloggers had decided to take what intended to be a short break to refresh and recharge, only to start fresh after having been away for months, or years, to quitting altogether. From the start, I promised myself that I would never miss a day of posting, and so far, I’ve been blessed to keep my word.

It would be an understatement to say that Corner Politics wouldn’t have lasted this long without your support. I write because of your support. I wouldn’t be relevant if it weren’t for you all putting up with my shit talking.  Honestly, I love to blog, and I would still talk my shit if I had one or 1,000 readers (I prefer 1,000 though).

I do hope that you all will continue riding with me as I continue to grow. Trust me, I plan on being a problem that you can’t get rid of.  I hope that you will like the additions and changes that will take place sooner than you think. Thank you all from the bottom of my heart.

Talk to me, I’ll talk back.

Breazy Shuttlesworth

5 thoughts on “It’s My Anniversary.

  1. Good Job Breezy 🙂
    I’ve been up to my elbows in busy lately but, I still read!! I might not have a free brain cell to contribute commentary but, I am definitely still reading friend. Keep up the great work 🙂
    ~R

Leave a Reply

