Generally Speaking.

Being a blogger can get interesting when writing about a plethora of topics. One of the most interesting things about being a blogger is how people often get in their feelings about generalizations. I’m not sure if people realize it, but I have halitosis from being a shit talker who talks so much shit. I might be slightly off, but they do it because, they like to point out that everybody is not the same.

You think this is a game?
You think this is a game?

I have a little secret for you. I’m not sure if you know this, but I do know that people can’t be lumped together in a box. I’ve lived all around the world (iyi iyi) and have met all types of people, and I can tell you that people from Germany are different from people who are from DC.  I say this to say, that it’s hard not to generalize, especially when I have met a lot of people during my time here on earth. It’s kind of like polls you see online or read in magazines; the people who are actually polled are just a small fraction of the population, yet they are expected to represent the larger population.I give people the benefit of the doubt, because I know we all have some sort of intelligence and can read. I assume that my audience is smart enough to know that I don’t have to put a “not all, but some” disclaimer before each generalized statement in order to not offend.

But since you know what they say about assumptions, I am surprised often by some people’s comments. I don’t mind being called out, because it comes with the territory, and I’m good as long as people keep reading. But the pure d truth of the matter (I know I’m going to come off as an asshole) is that I don’t give a f*uck, nor a window to throw it out. I don’t assume all men/women are one way or the other.

People don’t like generalizations because they’re easy and maybe a little lazy. They cover a lot of ground and  tend to lump people together, right or wrong. The truth is, as much as we like to believe we are, we aren’t all that special to be singled out. The more people you come in contact with (whether they are man, woman, gay straight, etc), the closer you get to an average.

While you the individual reader may not be emotional, in general, a lot of women are.

While you, homie, may not be the no good, out of work, selfish d*ck in a glass case that we men are painted as, there are a lot of men who are.

You’ll find those who are offended by generalizations try to distance themselves from them by saying things like, “I don’t know anybody like that” or “I know more people who aren’t like abc than are like 123″. Excuse me, but I have to call bullshit. Obviously, while I do  generalize at times, I blog primarily from my personal experiences. The generalizations that I tend to make aren’t all that far off, if at all, for somebody like myself, who studies people.

Generalizations and stereotypes scare people. We try so hard to be individuals so that we don’t fit them, that we actually become them. Some of us will go out of our way to distance ourselves from those crazy niggas on TV, that we become sometimes a caricature of ourselves.

Bottom line is, if you are confident in who you are and know you don’t fit into a box, then generalizing shouldn’t bother you since it doesn’t pertain to you. At the same time, we shouldn’t fool ourselves. At one time or another, we have all done something even if it was one time, that fell in line with what someone else did. Does this mean that we fit into a box with everybody else? No, it just means that we are not always the individual we think we are.

What say ye? Are generalizations really that serious? Why do you think people take offense to them if it doesn’t pertain to them? Do generalizations offend you?

Talk to me, I’ll talk back

B-Legit, The Savage.

10 thoughts on “Generally Speaking.

  1. Speak on it bruh! My grandfather used to say “only hit dogs bark”. Therefore, if something is about a person, they’ll react. If it’s not, then the person needs to let it roll off they’re back.

    1. Yeah, you know I agree, but the truth is not everybody can. I think when some people here a generalization they immediately think of themselves and maybe feel a little uncomfortable. Uncomfortable because just as much as they don’t want to be lumped together with other people, they in fact do the exact same thing as the others. It’s hard looking in the mirror sometimes.

  2. It is a bit lazy. We have too much generalizing out here. It is for this reason (not primarily though) that I have decided to further my education, conduct RESEARCH and offer the world (or whoever is willing to read) something more than “amen gurl” – worthy rants.

    “Hit dogs bark.” The world has enough cliché responses, too. LOL IJS

    1. I can admit that it may be lazy at times, but let’s not act like generalizations and some stereotypes are based off some truths. I don’t think that all generalizations are due to lack of education but more about experiences. Our experiences are just as important to our development as eductation. I now people that are so smart they’re dumb. They can’t do simple things like walk and chew gum at the same time, or make a pot of coffee, maybe because of their education they tend to over think the simple things. I know Md’s and lawyers along with college professors that use generalizations. Does their higher education make them immune to generalizations? I don’t think so.

      The generalizations that I make are based off my past, places I’ve lived and things that I see. They also make for good conversation. Again I know not everybody is hot or cold, but I do speak about what I am feeling and what I know. I always welcome agreement or disagreement and a good debate never hurt anyone.

  3. Fantastico! The essence of all we do is an attempt to defy a stereotype. When all is said and done our legacy remains, “we” want “them” to say we were not “that”.

  4. For the most part, I don’t care much about generalizations on a whole. When it specifically effects me, then yes, I do. Let’s say peoples tendency to over share & want attention. Even though I’m a blogger and share content, I usually don’t put personal info out. Because people over share, when I meet someone (and more often than not, I have no interest in them), after a few texts or email exchanges they ask you to send a picture of yourself. When I refuse, it’s a shock since the generalization is women love taking selfies & tacky Instagram style photos and are willing to share. So then I look like the odd one out.
    I agree also that I shouldn’t have to include a caveat in my blog posts, and people should just know what I mean, but before I’m a blogger, I’m a writer and know you need to approach a topic as if no one knows about it already.

  5. This is so true. I love when people bring out 1 example to prove that what you said is not true. You almost need a disclaimer after every post, “I understand this does not apply to everyone, just most of you….”

  6. This is a great post! Maybe it’s just me, but I have always been of the mindset that if it doesn’t apply to me then there is no need for me to get upset about it. Regardless to whether or not have a direct or indirect connection to the group or groups that are being generalized upon, if I don’t do the things that are being spoken on, then I’m straight. For example, if someone says to me that “All Black women are bossy.” Now, yes, this is a very false generalization, which I am sure that they will find out in their own time of dealing with and saying this to various Black women. However, in my opinion, for me to get mad at that generalization would suggest that I thought that it was true and didn’t want to hear it AND that it applied to me, which it does not. The most that I can do regarding any generalization that I do not agree with is state my opinion and keep it moving. At the end of the day, it’s really not that serious to get your panties all in a bunch over something that someone says that you do not agree.

    1. I generally (see what I did there) laugh when people assume I’m a certain way just because I’m from Denver and they have an assumptions of what blacks from Colorado do. I’m a pretty laid back kind of person anyways so generalizations don’t faze me, but like you, if you’re not talking about or to me, it doesn’t pertain to me.

  7. I think they take offense because it DOES pertain to them on some level, whether they want to openly admit it or not. I know who I am, what I’ve done, and what I answer to and I’m comfortable enough with myself to admit it. Therefore, generalizations don’t bother me.

Leave a Reply

