Grown Man Bi.

As I get older (and hopefully wiser, but that is debatable) I realize there are some things I don’t do any more. Things of my youth that I have put away. Places I no longer to go, people I had to cut off along the way and music I no longer listen to. It’s the circle of life (no Lion King) that as we grow older we progress and put away the childish things of our youth.

Oh the irony of me being all growed up.
Oh the irony of me being all growed up.

That’s not to say that I can’t act like a kid sometimes. Mrs. Breazy will tell you how excited I get as I give her the history of characters from comic books and cartoons made into movies. Playing video games or having my birthday party at Dave and Busters. I even watched the newer versions of Thundercats and G.I. Joe cartoons to see how they compare to the originals. I like the original versions better. I have all 5 seasons of Martin and all 4 seasons of In Living Color and I watch them like I did in the early 90’s.

These are just a few things that made me happy when I was younger, that sends me down memory lane whenever I do them now. But things are different now, instead of school, I’m working to pay the bills and not having a care in the world has been replaced with responsibilities. While it may sound like I’m complaining, I’m not it’s just that some days I miss not having to worry about the bills, my car note or work.

But just like wine things get better as they age. With all the responsibilities, stress and sometimes headaches I love being an adult. I love the sense of accomplishment I get from paying the bills, car note and rent. When I was a child I had to depend on my parents to feed, clothe and provide for me. But now I am doing these things myself it feels good knowing that I don’t have to depend on others.

Being an adult is the best and my adult life is good. I have a roof over my head, food on my table and a woman who loves me. Also I can do the nasty and not worry about getting caught. Yep my adulthood is better than my childhood.

Do you like being an adult as much as I do? Would you change anything? Or do you wish you can go back in a time machine to relive your childhood?

Talk to me, I’ll talk back.

Breazy.

3 thoughts on “Grown Man Bi.

  1. I very much love the independence I have as an adult. I would, therefore, having experienced adulthood, never want to go back to my childhood, although my childhood was fundamentally great. I’m glad that I don’t have to depend on anyone economically and socially. I’ve always desired independence. This is why I worked at places when I turned 16 years old that people would not believe that I did. Money brings about independence, even when we become 16 years old and have an opportunity to get a job. When you have to depend on people, they begin to exploit you, even many parents are guilty of exploiting their children: they know that their children need them for economic survival. Good reflective piece!

  2. Thank you. Since my birthday was yesterday (thank you for the birthday wishes btw) I found myself reflecting on the first 34 years of my life. As I hopefully head into the next 34 years of my life. And I started thinking on the places I’ve been, things that I use to do, but no longer do. I came to the conclusion even with all the everyday stress of being an adult my life is better than when I was younger. I had a great childhood, traveled and lived all over the world and all the love anybody could hope for. And even though I would never change my childhood, I think my adulthood (while it’s not over) is better and will continue to be better.

    1. We have so many more possibilities when we are older. When we are confined to the authority of our parents, we are limited by what that authority will permit us to do. We can appreciate our childhood and embrace our adulthood even more. This is the way we continue to allow our lives to get better each day. Yes, you are right, adult life is stressful. I have learned to embrace that stress and that stress helps to mold me into a stronger, better person. Both of us are still young and have so much more to life to live.

Leave a Reply

