Damn, What Happened Queen Bee?

I'm not only a client, I'm the plastic surgery fan club president.
I’m not only a client, I’m the plastic surgery fan club president.
So I was cruising through the blogosphere last night trying to find something that would pique my interest enough to write about, and I came across a picture of who I guess use to be Lil Kim.

The reason why I say use to be Lil Kim is because when I saw the picture I wasn’t sure if it was her, a Madame Tussaud wax statue or she found a way to shape shift into Charo. To say that her face is unrecognizable would be an understatement, it’s also safe to say that I don’t think Kim’s face nor career turned out the way she and B.I.G (when he was alive) thought it would be. Basically the old Lil Kim from the Junior Mafia days died along with the Notorious B.I.G.

We all know that she suffered from low self-esteem and looked to B.I.G. for guidance, acceptance and love. It’s also well documented that B.I.G. contributed to her low self-esteem by physically and emotionally abusing her by slapping her and telling her how ugly she was. While B.I.G was trying to turn Kim into the Marilyn Monroe of rap he was tearing her down emotionally.

It’s head scratching trying to figure out how someone who use to be the star of many of men’s dreams (including mine) especially when she posed with her legs open in the 2 piece bathing suit on the inside cover of the Hardcore album is now the butt of jokes as well as the prototype for the new Mr./Mrs. Potato Head dolls.

I wonder if self-esteem alone caused Kim to become addicted to going under the knife, or if there were other contributing factors. Could it have been the pressure to keep B.I.G’s legacy alive, to stay on top and relevant? Whatever the factors I think B.I.G. did a number on her.

What do you think? Do you think the tranformations that Kim’s face has gone through are due to B.I.G.’s treatment of her, or is it something else?

Talk to me, I’ll talk back.

Breazy.

5 thoughts on “Damn, What Happened Queen Bee?

  1. I think part of it could be the abuse she received from Biggie and part societal views of beauty. She always hated her big nose like a lot of black people (Jackson family anyone) so that was her first surgery. Even that before picture is not her original nose, you have to go back to the Get Money video to see the real Lil Kim. Her desire to alter her nose is no different then all these black women injecting themselves with harmful chemicals to measure up to this big booty phenomenon currently running rampant.

    She could also be suffering from dysmorphic disorder http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Body_dysmorphic_disorder. People become obsessed with what they think is wrong with the way they look and it stems from depression, anxiety and sometimes enviromental factors. Whatever it is I feel bad for her.

  2. She’s suffering from self-esteem problems pre-Biggie and post-Biggie. She’s struggling to stay relevant. In this struggle to stay relevant, she’s finding herself doing some outrageous things and this is undoubtedly the most outrageous. Dealing with deep self-esteem problems is tremendously important.

Leave a Reply

