Django Unchained, Love It Or Hate It.

images[2]Congratulation’s to my President Barack Obama on his second inauguration, I wish him a successful second term.

I’m pretty sure by now you’ve either seen Django Unchained, know someone who has or has heard all of the controversy surrounding the movie. After recently seeing Django Unchained I thought I’d throw my two pennies into the mix. There have been countless “talking heads”, blog sites, media outlets and anyone with a voice give their opinion, even Spike Lee stuck out his head to give his take. Needless to say Django has gotten people to talk.

This is not a movie review ( Mrs. Breazy and I liked it) but rather my opinion on the two opposing opinions that people seem to have about the movie. To say either you loved it or hated it would be an understatement. You have those like Spike Lee who find the movie disrespectful to “slavery and our ancestors”, and you have those that liked the movie and just took as another Quentin Tarantino movie.

On a side note Supporters of the movie like Dick Gregory, Donnell Ashy Larry Rawlings and Luther “Luke Skywalker” Campbell have voiced their displeasure in Spike’s criticism of the movie, calling him everything from irrelevant, a thug, a punk and a conniving and scheming Uncle Tom just like Samuel L Jackson’s character.

Neither opinion is right or wrong, it’s just an opinion that people are allowed to have that hopefully unlike Spike Lee have actually seen the movie. Not to mention this isn’t Spike’s first time speaking out against Tarantino, Spike was vocal in 1997 about Jackie Brown and usage of the n-bomb.

As I mentioned earlier I liked Django but I also respect the opinion of those that didn’t, I just don’t understand some of their arguments, for example In addition to the movie being about slavery and opening old wounds that people would rather forget, it is directed by a white director, Quentin Tarantino which adds fuel to the fire.

I can understand why those that don’t like the movie would feel some kind of way about it. But it’s not the first time a slavery centered movie directed by a white director was made, movies like Mandigo and Glory were both directed by white Directors and I’m sure it won’t be the last. So why are people making a fuss about it now, is beyond me.

Also this isn’t Tarantino’s first time making a movie about a touchy subject, Tarantino’s Inglourious Basterds is centered around 1940’s Nazi occupied France and a plan to kill Nazi leaders including Hitler by a group of Jewish U.S. soldiers

I guess this is a classic case of you can’t please everybody, I’ve enjoyed all of Quentin Tarantino’s movies and viewed them for what they are, highly bloody/violent, funny and entertaining while others may not. Again I do respect the opinion of those that don’t think the same as me.

So what do you think, did you find it disrespectful or not, do you like it or hate it?

Talk to me, I’ll talk back.

Breazy

2 thoughts on “Django Unchained, Love It Or Hate It.

  1. I’m all for respecting opinions. As far as seeing the movie, I’ll wait for it to come out on DVD or Netflix. Nothing about it, at least in the previews or what I’ve read has swayed me one way or the other.

Leave a Reply

