Bad Habits!!!

Baby, I swear we were just praying.
Baby, I swear we were just praying.
I recently listened to Maxwell’s great song Bad Habits, which is no great revelation.  To tell you the truth, I don’t know why I searched my iTunes for that particular song, but after listening to it for the first time in a long time I was able to come up with today’s post.  You see, I was stumped and coming up blank on what to write, and no matter what I watched, listened to or thought about helped.  But for some reason, Bad Habits parted the heavens, and a ray of light in the form of inspiration descended upon me.

Now for those that aren’t familiar with the song Bad Habits, it’s a tale of two people – a man and a woman – you have to specify the sex these days, who are addicted to each other while both are in relationships with other people. But for some reason; whether it’s because they don’t want to, refuse to, or just can’t, shake the monkey that is on their backs.  The video stars a delictable Kerry Washington aka Lady Heroin as the other woman and Maxwell as the conflicted yet very taken husband who engages in erotic sex, ducking in and out of  hotel rooms so as not to be found out by both of their significant others.

This song resonates with me in ways most songs don’t (if you don’t mind me keeping it 100)  in that it eerily reminds me of myself and a situation I know all too well.  How well? Well, let’s just say my wandering eye, with aid of another, was the last nail in the coffin of a past yet dying relationship, my marriage.

You see, I knew what I was doing and I knew it was wrong, but I didn’t care. While the situation was totally unexpected and caught me by surprise, I tried lying to myself by denying what I was feeling and reminding myself I was already with someone, but the  damage was already done. I was jonesing for my new habit.

So, that’s enough of my Taxi Cab confessions; What say ye Corner Politicians, have you ever been so enraptured by someone or something that you had to have it at all costs without regard for how it would affect others?

Leave a Reply

